Women’s March – January 21, 2017.

wp-1485101619727.jpg

After marching and protesting at yesterday’s Women’s March on C-U Official, I feel more proud and empowered than ever before. I am incredibly proud of my local Champaign-Urbana community. Our march brought in 5,000 women, men and children and it was an extraordinary sight to witness and be a part of. I am proud of my brother, my friends, my co-workers and other family members who marched with me yesterday. I am proud of my Dad and Connie for marching in Palm Springs, CA while they were on vacation. I am proud of anyone and everyone who supported the march and who was with us in spirit but couldn’t be there in person (shout out to my Mom, Ben and my Little, Sarina). But most of all, I am proud to be a woman and to be surrounded with other women in my community, standing up for what is right and what we deserve.

I am still riding on the highs of yesterday, but I know that I need to find ways to keep this momentum going. I will do so by continuing to let my voice be heard. I will not back down, be quiet or be shamed for voicing what I know is right; that every human being deserves to be treated equally, no matter their sex, the color of their skin or where they come from. Even though I still have anger and passion inside of me, I will try my best to express my beliefs with kindness, respect and of course, a little humor (political puns, anyone?). I can only hope that those who disagree with me will do the same.

I want to thank the Champaign County Young Democrats for hosting a wonderful event at West Side Park yesterday. Thank you to the speakers who gave us so many strong and beautiful words to use as fuel to march and continue forward. Thank you to all of the volunteers for helping with the event and giving us words of encouragement and beautiful smiles as we marched. Thank you to the protesters that stood beside me and my friends as we were heckled by what might have been the one Trump supporter at the event. Thank you to everyone who came out and marched with us, both in Champaign-Urbana and around the world, and those who were there with us in spirit.

This is just the beginning.

 

Leave a Reply

