Goodbye, 2016.

2016. What a year. I think many people can agree that 2016 was an over all bad year for the world.  Many iconic celebrities and public figures passed away this year.  The United States presidential election coverage was insane and was unlike any other election that we have ever experienced before.  And of course, the fact that Donald Trump will be our president in 2017…well let’s just say I’m not thrilled about it.

But I am not here to get political or depressed on my own blog. This is my safe space where I can write my thoughts and feelings on anything and everything I chose to, and I have a feeling that I am going to be needing to use this space more than ever in the coming year. But for now, I am going to reflect on the highlights of my 2016 year:

We saw Black Sabbath live in concert for their final tour. I got to treat Ben, my Dad and my brother to this experience as a belated Christmas present and they loved it.


Ben and I stayed in our first Airbnb as treat for our birthdays; a tree house in Schaumburg, Illinois! It was a wonderful day trip.


treehouse

I got a major haircut for my birthday. It was significant since I had been growing my hair out for the past 5 years. I debated on doing it for a long time and decided to go for it. I am still very happy that I did.

I went to Medieval Times twice this year!  Once on my birthday and another on my Dad’s birthday. I hadn’t been since my family went when I was 6 years old, and I have to say, it was still a lot of fun.

medieval-times

I FINALLY SAW BEYONCE IN CONCERT!  And it was as awesome and amazing as I thought it would be. The only down side was that it POURED rain when we were there and we had to wait an extra hour for the show to begin. But I still think it was worth it.

Ben and I also saw The Lumineers perform in concert!  This is a band that has been with us since the beginning of our relationship. We have bonded over many of their songs so it was wonderful to see them live together.

thelumineers

We also saw two of my very favorite comedians perform live this year. We saw Louis C.K. in June and Nick Offerman in November. I love these two men so much and we had a great time laughing at their new jokes.

louisck

nickofferman

Ben and I also made it a point to visit Nashville, Tennessee over the 4th of July weekend. I had been wanting to see this city for a while, so being able to finally do it this year felt so good. I particularly loved visiting the Johnny Cash Museum and Jack White’s record company, Third Man Records. We had a great weekend there and we will definitely be visiting again soon!

Ben and I also celebrated our 5 year anniversary this year! We went on a weekend getaway to Michigan with my Mom, her bulldog, Toby and our two Great Danes, Charlotte and Quincy.  It was quite a trip, but luckily, all of the dogs behaved and got along well together! And our dogs did well with surviving their first road trip. I am hoping to do more trips with our dogs and with our families in the future.

I also made the challenging decision of trading in my beloved Tom Cruise PT Cruiser for a new-to-me Ford Escape. I had a lot of mixed emotions about buying a car on my own, but ultimately, it was the right decision and I love my “new” vehicle!

newcar

Even though the election season did not end the way I wanted it to, I was able to vote for the first female United States presidential nominee. And I still think that is pretty fantastic.

BabeWithThePower.jpg

I also began writing articles and taking photographs for my local online magazine, Smile Politely.  This is not something that I had previously planned on doing as a part-time hobby, but I really enjoy it and I look forward to continuing to do more with Smile Politely in 2017. If you are interested in reading any of my past articles, you can do so here.

smilepolitely

And those are my favorite highlights and accomplishments of 2016! When I look back at these moments, 2016 doesn’t seem like a bad year at all. That being said, I am very much looking forward to starting fresh in 2017. I already have some exciting plans in the works and I can’t wait to see how much I can accomplish this next year.

2017, let’s do this thang.

20161231_164845.jpg

Leave a Reply

