Not So Ramen Noodles

Do you ever get cravings for specific foods that keep calling your name because they are SO GOOD?  You are not alone.  I myself get specific food cravings quite often and no, this not me announcing that I am pregnant, unless you mean with a food baby!

One specific food craving that always calls my name at least once a month is Pad Thai.  Oh man, do I love Pad Thai.  And lucky for me, there are a few restaurants in my area that have their Thai food down pad (yes, pun intended).  But unlucky for me, I can’t afford fulfilling my Thai food takeout cravings each month.

So what’s a poor, hungry girl to do?  I make my own, affordable version with a little inspiration from the one and only Martha Stewart.

not-so-ramen-noodles

Not So Ramen Noodles

Ingredients:

2 packages of ramen noodles (if the craving is REAL and you like leftovers)
2 packets of noodle flavoring (I used chicken,)
3 tbsp. creamy peanut butter
2 tbsp. soy sauce
1 handful of peanuts
1 carrot, peeled and cut into small strips
2 green onions, thinly sliced
Sriracha to taste

IMG_1270

Directions:

1. Boil water, and add ramen noodles.  Cook for 3 minutes, stirring occasionally.

IMG_1275

2. After noodles are cooked, drain off most of the liquid, but not all.  Add flavoring, peanut butter, soy sauce, peanuts and mix well.

IMG_1276

3. Plate noodles and garnish with carrot, green onions, and Sriracha.

IMG_1282

This is a super easy and affordable meal that is ready to eat in minutes.  It is much more filling and flavorful than plain ol’ ramen noodles, and it satisfied my Pad Thai craving completely.

What are your food cravings?  How often do you need to answer when your food craving calls?  Do you satisfy your cravings by making the meals yourself or do you prefer to have someone else make it?  I’d love to know!

Leave a Reply

